STATE OF WASHINGTON

DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY

1250 W Alder St o Union Gap, WA 98903-0009 © (509) 575-2490

April 16, 2019

Ben Alworth

Kyle Mathison Orchards
4597 Stemilt Hill Road
Wenatchee, WA 98801

RE: Public Notice of Application for a New State Waste Discharge Permit
No. ST0501323 for Stemilt World Famous Compost

Dear Ben Alworth:

Reference is made to the subject application, submitted under the provisions of the Washington
State Water Pollution Control Act, for a permit to discharge treated wastewater into public
waters of this state. Thank you for submitting an application for a new state waste discharge
permit on February 27, 2019, and an initial review shows that your application was accepted as
complete on March 28, 2019.

Your application is a matter of public record. State Water Pollution Control Laws requires
publishing of a legal Public Notice which describes the discharge for any operation. This is to
give the public a chance to be aware of, and comment on any wastewater treatment and disposal
facilities. Tn compliance with this requirement, enclosed is a copy of the Public Notice
describing your wastewater discharge. The Department of Ecology will publish this notice in the
"Legal Classified Section" of the Wenatchee World on April 30, and May 7, 2019. There will
be a 30 day comment period from the last publication date. Comments received during this
period will be considered in the formulation of the temporary permit.

Since the Department is unable to act upon the application during the 60 days following
acceptance on March 28, 2019, according to RCW 90.48.200, the application and attachments
will provide the basis for a Temporary Permit. That permit will become effective 30 days
after the final publication date, provided:

L no significant comments are received;

2 the details of monitoring, reporting and interim limits are worked out and appended to
the application; and

3. the permit application fee has been paid.

The Temporary Permit will remain valid for up to five years or until a formal permit can be
written.

In response to the passage of Initiative 97, now codified as RCW 90.48.465, Ecology has
adopted a regulation (Chapter 173-224 WAC) establishing annual permit fees for all
municipal/domestic and industrial wastewater discharge permit holders. You will be officially
notified of the amount of the fee, payment schedules, and other details by the Ecology Fee Unit.
Please contact Charles Gilman at 360/407-6425 with any fee related questions.
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The regulation also establishes an application fee for first time permit applicants as being either
$250.00 or twenty-five percent of the annual permit fee category assigned the applicant,
whichever is greater. After reviewing the information submitted in your application, you have
been assessed an application fee of $2,454.00 which reflects the following in the application fee
schedule:

Category: Facilities Not Otherwise Classified — Individual Permit Coverage
Subcategory: c. 10,000- <50,000 gpd
Annual Fee: $9,817.00

Please send your payment, along with the enclosed invoice, within 30 days to:

Washington State Department of Ecology
Wastewater Discharge Permit Fee Program
PO Box 47611
Olympia, WA 98504-7611

This fee must be paid before the permit needed for your facility to be in compliance with State
and Federal laws can be issued. If you do not agree with the application fee assessed for your
facility, you may file an appeal explaining the basis for your disagreement. Please mail your
appeal to:
Washington State Department of Ecology
Water Quality Program
PO Box 47696
Olympia, WA 98504-7696

Should you have any questions about this process, please call me at 509/457-7105.
Sincerely,
Cindy Huwe

Permit Coordinator
Water Quality Program

Enclosure: Public Notice
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Facility Name:
Permit Number:
Region:

Permit Coordinator:

Application Fee:

FEE REMITTANCE FORM
Stemilt World Famous Compost
ST0501323
Central Regional Office
Cindy Huwe
$2.,454.00

Your facility has been assigned the following designation:

Category:
Subcategory:

Facilities Not Otherwise Classified — Individual Permit Coverage
¢. 10,000~ <50,000 gpd

This designation is used to establish the amount of your fee.

Please return this form with your payment. Make your check payable to “Department of

Ecology” and mail to:

Washington State Department of Ecology
Wastewater Discharge Permit Fee Program

PO Box 47611

Olympia, WA 98504-7611







