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Focus on: State Costs for Spills 

Oil on water from fishing vessel Kathleen K sinking and spill, Seattle, 2013.

Contact information 

Resource Damage Assessment 
(RDA) team 
360-790-9725

Spills Program Enforcement 
Coordinator 
360-701-4379

Spills Program Finance Officer 
360-280-4075

Enforcement FAQs 
https://fortress.wa.gov/ecy/ 
publications/SummaryPages/ 
0408003.html  

Spills Program website 
ecology.wa.gov/SpillsProgram 

Special accommodations 
To request ADA accommodation 
including materials in a format 
for the visually impaired, call 
Ecology at 360-407-7211 or visit 
ecology.wa.gov/accessibility. 
People with impaired hearing 
may call Washington Relay 
Service at 711. People with 
speech disability may call TTY at 
877-833-6341.

Oil spills to water are costly to clean up and can cause long-term 
damage to the environment and other public resources. Oil spills to 
state waters are also a violation of law. Although the risk of a 
catastrophic spill is slight, cumulatively spills of all sizes degrade the 
quality of state waters. 

Three state costs you may pay if you spill oil or other 
hazardous substances to state waters 
If you are responsible for a spill of oil or hazardous substances to state 
waters, in addition to paying for cleanup costs and claims from third 
parties, Washington State may require you or your company to pay:  

1. A resource damage assessment.

2. Reimbursement of the state’s expenses to respond, assess, and
investigate the incident.

3. A penalty for violation of the state’s law or rule.

A party responsible for a threat of a spill may still be required to 
reimburse the state for the cost of responding to the threat. The 
responsible party’s full and rapid response to contain and clean up a 
spill, and cooperation in investigation of the spill, can reduce the 
amount of a resource damage assessment, a penalty, or both.  

If you receive a notice to pay one or all of the three costs, pay attention 
to the deadlines explained in the notice to contest the notice or pay. 

Resource Damage Assessment (RDA) 
Public resources refer to fish, wildlife, habitat, and other natural and 
cultural resources of the state. Assessment is compensation for injuries 
to resources. It is based on the type of oil, how much is spilled to water, 
the time of year, and the sensitivity of the environment the oil entered.  
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Most often, compensation is determined by a 
formula called the compensation schedule. The 
schedule will set compensation within a range of $1 
to $100 per gallon for spills less than 1,000 gallons, 
and $3 to $300 per gallon for spills larger than 
1,000 gallons. Except for very small spills, Ecology 
will issue an RDA for damages to natural resources.  

Determination of a damage assessment begins 
when Ecology sends you a letter inviting you to a 
meeting of the Resource Damage Assessment 
Committee. At this meeting, the Committee will 
conduct a “pre-assessment screening” to determine 
whether compensation will be assessed, either 
through use of the compensation table or by 
studying and evaluating the specific resources 
harmed. After the spill, if recovered volumes are 
tracked and documented, the committee may also 
apply credit for oil recovered within the first 24 
hours for non-persistent oil, or 48 hours for 
persistent oil. 

Damage assessments are set by the committee but 
are issued by the Washington State Attorney 
General’s Office. Payments for oil spill damages go 
into the state's Coastal Protection Fund, which can 
only be used for environmental restoration 
projects, oil spill studies, and habitat mapping 
systems. In fact, the spiller is always welcome to 
propose restoration projects instead of paying 
monetary damages. (Reference: RCW 90.48.364 to 
90.48.368, and Chapter 173-183 WAC.) 

Order for Reimbursement of State 
Expenses (ORE) 
A party found responsible for a spill, or threat of a 
spill, must reimburse the state for its expenses in 
responding. Spills often require the services of 
cleanup contractors. If you act promptly by hiring a 
contractor yourself or use your own spill response 
equipment, outside response costs are usually 
minimal. However, if the state on-scene coordinator 
believes the cleanup is being delayed or 
mishandled, or there is an environmental threat 
that is not controlled, Washington State may hire a 
contractor or use state equipment.  

You are liable for reimbursing the state for the costs 
of contractors hired and any cleanup supplies they 
use. You may also be responsible for:  

1. Response costs of the Department of
Ecology and other state agencies.

2. Investigation costs.
3. Costs related to determining the impact to

resources.
4. Costs associated with the capture and

rehabilitation of oiled wildlife.

If you are determined responsible for the spill, 
Ecology will invoice you for the state’s costs in the 
form of an order called an order for reimbursement 
of expenses. (Reference: RCW 90.56.350 and 
90.56.400.) 

Penalty for Violation of Law or Rule 
Ecology may issue a penalty for violation of a state 
law or rule. Penalties are issued for spills to waters 
of the state, failure to notify the Washington State 
Emergency Management Division of a spill, failure 
to clean up a spill, failure to comply with an 
approved oil spill contingency plan, and other laws 
and rules. Whether we issue a penalty and how 
large the penalty is depends on a number of factors. 
Those factors include the spill size, type of material, 
impact to the environment, impact to public health 
and safety, effectiveness of cleanup, and history of 
past violations. Other types of enforcement Ecology 
may use include an order, notice of correction, or 
notice of violation. 

Ecology may issue a penalty for each day of a 
violation. For example, if there is a discharge that 
continues over multiple days, each day of discharge 
is a violation. For oil spills, if Ecology determines 
that negligence, recklessness, or intent to spill is 
involved, an additional penalty may be assessed for 
each day oil threatens the environment. (Reference: 
RCW 88.46.090, 90.48.140 and 90.56.330.) 
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