What is the Law?

The law states that even where burning is permitted, everyone should try to reduce burning to the greatest extent possible.



Why?

Even unprocessed natural vegetation such as lawn clippings, leaves and pine needles produce **air pollutants** when burned. This includes **carbon monoxide** and **fine particulates** which, when inhaled into the lungs, can have serious health impacts.

Children, the elderly and those suffering from chronic respiratory conditions such as **asthma**, **emphysema and bronchitis** are the most vulnerable to poor air quality. Reducing air pollution is one way Ecology is working to decrease toxics in the environment.



For more information:

Washington Department of Ecology Eastern Regional Office N. 4601 Monroe Spokane, WA 99205-1295 (509) 329-3400

> Toll-free Air Quality and Smoke Complaint Line: 1-866-211-6284

> > www.ecy.wa.gov

Publication #06-02-017K

If you need this document in another format, please call Tami Dahlgren at (360) 407-6830. If you are a person with a speech or hearing impairment, call 711 or 1-800-833-6388 for TTY.

Learn Before You Burn

in

Columbia & Garfield Counties:

How does the law affect you?

A Resident's Guide to Outdoor Burning Regulations and Resources



What can I burn?

- In many areas, no residential burning is allowed. However, in some rural areas, you can burn yard and garden debris such as leaves and clippings. Piles must be no larger than 4 feet wide by 3 feet high and must be *at least* fifty feet away from structures. Piles larger than this require a burn permit.
- Recreational fires such as campfires and barbeques. Only burn briquettes, propane, and bare, untreated, dry firewood.
- Debris from land you own. This includes land clearing burning and pasture management, and you must have a permit to burn.

When can I burn?

You can burn year-round, excluding times when a burn ban has been issued by either Ecology or your local fire department. You must **always** notify your local fire department when you are planning on burning, but you can also call the Agricultural Burn Hotline to find out if it is a good day to burn in your area.

What can't I burn?



- Residential and land clearing burning are banned in: Dayton, Starbuck, Pomeroy and their surrounding Urban Growth Areas*.
- You may not dispose of yard debris in a recreational fire.
- Burning ANYTHING in a burn barrel, including natural vegetation, <u>is illegal</u>. This is because a barrel limits the amount of oxygen that can get to a fire, which results in incomplete combustion and lots of smoke.
- It is illegal to do agricultural burning or land clearing burning without a permit.

*The Urban Growth Areas include the city limits and an area around each city. For more information about Urban Growth Areas, consult your local planning department.

What happens if I burn when I'm not supposed to?

You can be **fined up to \$10,000** per day, per violation! Illegal outdoor burning is one of the most common air quality violations. It pays to know the rules before you burn!

Who can I call for help?

Columbia County Planning & Building: (509) 382-4676

Garfield County Public Works: (509) 843-1301

Columbia County Conservation District (509) 382-4773 ext. 5

Washington Agricultural Burn Hotline 1-800-406-5322

Contact your local fire department before starting any outdoor fire.