
For more information contact your 
local clean air agency.

Agency County Telephone
Benton 
Clean Air 
Agency

Benton 509-783-1304

Ecology 
Central 
Region

Chelan, Douglas, 
Kittitas, Klickitat, 
Okanogan

509-575-2490

Ecology 
Eastern 
Region

Adams, Asotin, 
Columbia, Ferry, 
Franklin, Garfield, 
Grant, Lincoln, 
Pend Oreille, 
Stevens, Walla 
Walla, Whitman

509-329-3400

Ecology 
Northwest 
Region

San Juan 425-649-7000

Northwest  
Clean Air 
Agency

Island, Skagit, 
Whatcom 360-428-1617

Olympic 
Region  
Clean Air 
Agency

Clallam, Grays 
Harbor, Jefferson, 
Mason, Pacific, 
Thurston

360-539-7610 
800-422-5623

Puget 
Sound  
Clean Air 
Agency

King, Kitsap, 
Pierce, Snohomish

206-343-8800  
800-552-3565

Southwest  
Clean Air 
Agency

Clark, Cowlitz, 
Lewis, Skamania, 
Wahkiakum

360-574-3058

Spokane 
Regional  
Clean Air 
Agency

Spokane 509-477-4727

Yakima 
Regional  
Clean Air 
Agency

Yakima 509-834-2050

Buying or  
selling a wood  
burning device 
in Washington

ecology.wa.gov/woodstoves

What you need to know ...

What happens if you sell or 
give away an illegal wood 
burning device?

If you sell an illegal wood burning device, 
you can be fined up to $10,000 per illegal 
device sold.

To request ADA accommodation, call Ecology at  
(360) 407-6800, 711 (relay service), 

or (877) 833-6341 (TTY).
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https://ecology.wa.gov/About-us/Our-role-in-the-community/Partnerships-committees/Clean-air-agencies
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Washington has strict 
laws about wood stoves 
and other wood burning 
devices. Not every wood 
burning device that is 
sold in other states meets 
Washington’s requirements.

Catalytic  
Wood Burning 

Device

WA Limit 
2.5 gph

Non-Catalytic 
Wood Burning 

Device

gph = grams per hour
gpk = grams per kilogram

Factory-Built  
Fireplaces or  

Masonry Heaters

How are Washington’s 
requirements different?

Washington has stricter wood burning 
device standards than EPA to better 
protect health. The smoke from wood 
stoves, fireplaces, and other wood burning 
devices is made up of fine particles. Fine 
particles cause or worsen significant health 
effects, including asthma attacks, lung and 
heart disease, and stroke. 

To be sold in Washington, all wood 
burning devices must meet both EPA’s 
standards and Washington’s stricter 
standards.  

Wood burning devices include:
•  Wood stoves.
•  Pellet stoves. 
•  Wood furnaces.
•  Manufactured fireplaces.
•  Outdoor wood boilers.

What should you do before 
buying a wood burning device?

•  Check that it is certified in Washington. 
Look at the lists of certified wood 
burning devices at:  

 ecology.wa.gov/woodstoves  
or call Ecology at 360-407-6800. 

•  Get necessary permit(s) before installing 
a certified wood burning device.

•  Follow local building codes.

Why is there a $30 fee when 
purchasing a new wood 
burning device?

Each sale of a new wood burning device 
includes a $30 fee added to the purchase 
price. State law requires the fee for the 
education and enforcement of wood 
burning device rules.

This fee does not apply to the purchase 
or sale of a used certified device.

EPA Limit 
4.1 gph

WA Limit 
4.5 gph

EPA Limit 
7.5 gph

WA Limit 
7.3 gpk

EPA has 
no limit

http://ecology.wa.gov/woodstoves

