PERMIT FEES TO CHANGE

NEW FEES EXPECTED TO TAKE EFFECT JULY 1, 2012

New Agricultural Burn Fees have been proposed as follows:

Field Permits

Old Fees: Field up to 10 acres \$30.00

Field 11 acres+ \$30.00 + 3.00/acre

New Fees: Field up to 10 acres \$37.50

Field over 10 acres \$37.50 + \$3.75/acre*

<u>Pile Burning Permits</u>
*each acre over 10 acres

Old Fees: Pile up to 100 tons \$80.00

Pile over 100 tons \$80.00 + \$.50/ton

New Fees: Pile up to 80 tons \$80.00

Pile over **80** tons \$80+\$1.00/ton**

**each ton over 80 tons

The Agricultural Burning Practices and Research Task Force determined the fees will be \$3.75/acre for field burning and \$1.00/ton for pile burning. The new fees equal the cap set by the legislature. The funds generated from permit fees help pay for Ecology's smoke management system, help fund local permitting agencies, and fund research into alternatives to agricultural burning.

Please send your comments to Paul.Rossow@ecy.wa.gov or by mail at:

Washington Department of Ecology Eastern Regional Office, Air Quality Program

> 4601 N. Monroe St. Spokane, WA 99205-1295

For more information, visit our website at:

http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/aginfo/agburnpermitpage.htm

If you need this document in another format, contact the Air Quality Program at 360-407-6800. If you have a hearing loss, call 711 for Washington Relay Service. If you have a speech disability, call 877-833-6341.

