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New Fees Proposed for Gasoline
Dispensing Facilities

Ecology proposes to re-establish air quality inspection fees for
gasoline dispensing facilities (mainly gas stations) in counties
regulated by Ecology. This will be a rule change to Chapter
173-455 WAC, Air Quality Fee Regulation. The proposal will
be published in the Washington State Register on September 5,
2012. The Air Quality Fee Regulation contains fees for a
number of air quality activities.

Q: Does this new fee apply to my gas station?

A: This action applies to you if your gasoline dispensing facility
is located in Adams, Asotin, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry,
Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan,
Pend Oreille, San Juan, Stevens, Walla Walla, or Whitman
County. Gas stations located in the other counties are regulated
by one of the seven local air agencies (see
http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/air/local.html).

Q: What is Ecology doing?

A: The state rule requires gasoline dispensing facilities in
counties regulated by Ecology to register with Ecology (WAC
173-400-100). Ecology discontinued its registration program
due to budget constraints in the early 2000’s.

The registration fee will be used to re-establish the gasoline
vapor recovery inspection program. The program will reduce
the health risk from benzene (a carcinogen) exposure at and near
gasoline dispensing facilities, and reduces the formation of
ground-level ozone (contributor to smog).

Q: Is there a fee?

A: Yes. Ecology is authorized to charge a fee to cover the cost
of registration, periodic on-site inspection of the gasoline vapor
recovery system, review of emissions inventory reports, and
administrative support. We are proposing to modify our fee rule
(Chapter 173-455 WAC) to collect the amount needed to
operate this program.

MORE INFORMATION

Presentation followed by
public hearing:

Ecology is holding a presentation
and question-and-answer
session in three locations. The
formal public hearing will follow.
You can participate in person at
one of Ecology’s offices in Lacey,
Spokane, and Yakima or call in.

Date and time:

Tuesday, September 25, 2012
1:30 p.m.

Primary location:
Lacey: Ecology Headquarters
300 Desmond Drive SE

Video conference locations:
Yakima: Ecology Central
Regional Office

15 West Yakima Avenue Suite 200

Spokane: Ecology Eastern
Regional Office
North 4601 Monroe Street

Call in number:

(360) 407-3780

PIN Code: 980708 #
Wait for the conference operator
to connect you if the lines are full.

Web site:
http://www.ecy.wa.gov,

/air/rules/fee_rule.html

Contact information

rograms

Elena Guilfoil
360-407-6855

elena.guilfoil@ecy.wa.gov

Special accommodations

For special accommodations or
documents in an alternative
format, call (360) 407-6800,
711 (relay service), or 877-833-
6341 (TTY).
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Q: How much is the fee?

A: Each of the 416 affected gasoline dispensing facilities will have to pay $130 for each tank that
dispenses gasoline. This is in addition to the underground storage tank inspection fee which is
also charged on a per tank basis. Ecology has determined that it costs approximately $109,000
per year to administer this program.

Q: How was the $109,000 cost determined?

A: The Washington State Legislature authorized Ecology to collect up to $200,000 to register and
inspect the gasoline vapor recovery system at each gasoline dispensing facility. Ecology wanted
to keep the costs to a minimum so Ecology’s Underground Storage Tank (UST) Section and the
Air Quality Program worked together to send one Ecology (UST) inspector to each site. This is
more efficient, minimizing travel, supervisory, and administrative costs.

Q: When is the fee due?

A: Beginning July 1, 2013, you will pay the fee as part of the yearly business license fees
collected by the Business Licensing Service, which is part of the Department of Revenue.

Q: What are local air agencies and why do they have different fees?

A: The Washington Clean Air Act (Chapter 70.94 RCW) grants counties the power to create and

operate their own local air agencies. In counties where there is no local air agency, Ecology
assumes the responsibility for regulating businesses with air emissions. Ecology has no oversight
authority over local air agencies. They set their fees based on their operational costs.

Q: The state rule that regulates gasoline dispensing facilities (Chapter 173-
491 WAC) is out of date. Is Ecology planning to update that rule?

A: Yes. Ecology plans on revising that rule after finishing working on the fee rule. Federal
requirements for gasoline dispensing facilities are more stringent than state requirements. We
will offer the opportunity for gasoline dispensing facilities to participate in and comment on that
rule-making process. When that process begins, Ecology will send out notice to gasoline
dispensing facilities and other interested parties.

Translation available
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