
8¢ charge 
Large Paper Carryout Bags
Made with 40% recycled content. Charge is 

retained by the business.

NO
Single-use Plastic 

Carryout Bags

Other bags ALLOWED:

 For Restaurants and other Food Service Businesses

Small Paper BagsClean Reusable Tote

8¢ charge 
Thick Reusable Plastic 

Carryout Bags
Made with 40% recycled content and a 

minimum of 2.25 mil thick film. Charge is 
retained by the business.

40%

Small Bags for Moisture Control

40%

Washington State

Bag Requirements

REUSABLE

COMPOSTABLE
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Restaurant and Food Service Business Notes: 
• �Restaurants may not provide customers with single-use plastic carryout bags.

• �The bag ban applies to all restaurants, grocery delis, convenience stores,
prepared food vendors, farmers markets, food trucks, event food vendors, food
courts, temporary restuaurants, delivery, or take-out foods. Food banks are
exempt.

• �If you have questions about how your business must comply with this ban,
please contact bagban@ecy.wa.gov.

• �Restaurants must charge a minimum  of 8 cents for large paper bags. (1/8
barrel paper bags 882 cubic inches or larger) and reusable plastic bags (2.25
mil or thicker).

• �The large paper bags for which customers are charged must contain at least
40% postconsumer recycled content with the bag’s postconsumer recycled
content printed on the outside of the bag.

• �The reusable plastic film bags for which customers are charged must contain
at least 20% postconsumer recycled content with the minimum percentage of
postconsumer recycled content, the mil thickness, and the word “Reusable”
printed on the outside of the bag.

• Restaurants may provide smaller paper bags. Charge is optional.

• �Restaurants may use a small film bag to contain liquid filled containers before
placing into allowed carryout bags.

• �The bag charge is a taxable retail sale and must be shown on a receipt provided
to the customer. Restaurants must keep all revenue from bag charges.

• �Restaurants may provide certified compostable carry-out fillm bags for an
optional charge. These are not recommended for most areas in Washington.

• Any green on brown tinted bag must be compostable.

• �Restaurants may not provide customers with bags with misleading labels such
as“biodegradable,” “degradable,” “decomposable” or similar.

• �Individuals may report businesses that are not in compliance with the ban using
an online form provided by Department of Ecology.

• �Businesses may not charge the bag charge to customers using/showing a
voucher or benefits card (SNAP, WIC, TANF, FAP).
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Help your 
customers protect 
the environment 
and reduce plastic 
litter.

Visit the WA Ecology 
website to view, 
customize, and print 
educational BYOB 
items today. 

ecology.wa.gov/bag-ban

Details of the Washington State Bag Law

BYOB
Bring Your 

Own Bag

Questions? 
bagban@ecy.wa.gov or (425) 698-3722
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8¢ charge 
Large Paper Carryout 
Bags
Made with 40% recycled content. 
Charges must be retained by the 
business

NO
Single-use Plastic 
Carryout Bags

 For Restaurants and other Food Service Businesses

8¢ charge 
Thick Reusable 
Plastic Carryout Bags
Made with 20% recycled content 
and a minimum of 2.25 mil thick 
film. Charges must be retained by 
the business

20%40%

Charge optional
Compostable Carryout 
Bags Allowed but Not 
Recommended 
Green or brown tinted film bags 
must be compostable

Other bags ALLOWED:

Small Paper BagsClean Reusable Tote Small Bags for Moisture Control

Washington State

Bag Requirements

COMPOSTABLE

COMPOSTABLE

REUSABLE
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