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Introduction

Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) are a type of fluorinated gas commonly used in refrigeration and air
conditioning. Over recent decades, they gained popularity as a replacement for
chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) and hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs), which were shown to be
depleting the Earth’s ozone layer. However, HFCs are a short-lived “super pollutant” that can be
thousands of times more potent than carbon dioxide. Due to increased global demand for
cooling and refrigeration, they are now responsible for the fastest-growing greenhouse gas
emissions in the world and are having a disproportionate impact on the climate crisis.

In 2021, the Washington Legislature passed HB 1050, Hydrofluorocarbons — Emissions
Reduction (Chapter 70A.60 RCW). This law requires Ecology to establish maximum global
warming potential (GWP) thresholds for new stationary refrigeration and air conditioning
equipment sold in Washington and to establish a refrigerant management program to reduce
HFC leakage. It also requires Ecology to adopt GWP thresholds for refrigerants used in ice rinks
and prohibits the sale of small cans of high-GWP HFC refrigerants, as well as non-essential
consumer products (e.g., air horns, noisemakers) containing high-GWP refrigerant.

This guidebook provides supplemental information to aid the public in reviewing and
commenting on the proposed rule. It is intended to provide general information to stakeholders
about the Chapter 173-443 WAC Hydrofluorocarbons (HFCs) and Other Fluorinated Greenhouse
Gases proposed rule language and how it may affect them. In the event that any provision of
this guidebook conflicts with the provision of Chapter 70A.60 RCW or the proposed rule
language, the statute and proposed rule language are controlling. This guidebook will be
updated upon rule adoption, as necessary.



Benefits of proposed rule

Ecology estimates that the proposed rule, if finalized as written, would result in significant
greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions reductions that provide benefits and savings to Washington
consumers and industries, through energy efficiency gains and lower cost alternatives.
Equipment containing 50 pounds or more of refrigerant is estimated to leak the equivalent of 5.8
million metric tonnes of CO2 equivalent (MMTCO2e) statewide every year. Of this leakage, we
estimate 3.4 MMTCOze are HFCs. Combined with other statewide carbon reduction programs,
HFC emission reductions will help Washington achieve its statutory GHG emission reduction
limit of 95 percent below 1990 levels by 2050. The GHG emissions reductions from this
proposed action would reduce the equivalent of about half a million gasoline-powered vehicles
driven for one year.

Rulemaking timeline

Date Event

August 16, 2021 Announced rulemaking (filed CR-101 form)

December 2021 Proposed recommendations to the legislature about how
to manage end-of-life of HFCs/refrigerants

February 2022 - Hold stakeholder meetings

January 2023 Develop and prepare rule language

July 13, 2023 Propose rule (file CR-102 form)
Start public comment period

August 24, 2023 Hold public hearing(s)

August 31, 2023 End public comment period

Summer 2023 - Fall ' Review public comments

2023 Prepare adoption package

November 2023 Adopt rule (file CR-103 form)

December 2023 Rule effective 31 days after filing

For more information on this rule and how to comment, as well as information about public
hearings, please visit our website: WAC 173-443-455 - Washington State Department of

Ecology.



https://apps.ecology.wa.gov/publications/SummaryPages/2102021.html
https://apps.ecology.wa.gov/publications/SummaryPages/2102021.html
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Part 1: Prohibitions on the use of certain HFCs

This section of the guidebook covers Washington setting maximum global warming potential
thresholds for new stationary air-conditioning and refrigeration equipment, including ice rinks
and motor vehicle air conditioning (MVAC).

What does the rule propose?

Ecology is proposing to restrict the use of high-GWP HFCs in refrigeration, air conditioning, and
heat pump products and equipment. The proposed rule would prohibit manufacture and sale of
products containing restricted HFCs in Washington by the dates outlined in the tables below.
The proposed restrictions are listed by sector and subsector in the sections below.

Who is affected?

These requirements will apply to manufacturers of new equipment and to owners of existing
equipment that uses a high-GWP refrigerant. You may be affected by this rule if you:

e Offer for sale, lease, rent, install, or otherwise bring into Washington commerce
equipment that contains or uses a regulated refrigerant, HFC, or other substitute;

e Own or operate stationary refrigeration or air conditioning equipment containing a
regulated refrigerant, HFC, or other substitute;

e Install, repair, maintain, service, replace, or dispose of a stationary refrigeration or air
conditioning system;

e Distribute, reclaim, refrigerant with a high GWP.

Individual homeowners are not directly impacted by this rulemaking.

What sectors and subsectors are covered by the proposed
rule? What is exempt?

Ecology is proposing to restrict high-GWP HFCs used in products and equipment in the
refrigeration and air conditioning sectors. These proposed restrictions and exemptions are
summarized in Tables 1.1 through 1.4 in the pages that follow.

Table 1.1: Lists prohibited substances in new products and equipment for refrigeration and air
conditioning.

Table 1.2: Lists prohibited substances in new refrigeration equipment and exemptions.

Table 1.3: Prohibited substances for new air conditioning equipment and exemptions.

Table 1.4: Prohibited substances for small containers of refrigerant and nonessential consumer
products.

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
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Table 1.1a Prohibited substances for new products and equipment (added
through current rulemaking). End-use category: air conditioning.

End-Use Category:
Air Conditioning

Prohibited Substances

Effective Date

Centrifugal chillers -
heating and heating
and cooling

(New)

Positive displacement
chillers — heating and
heating and cooling
(New)

FOR12A, FOR12B, HFC-134a, HFC-227ea, HFC-
236fa, HFC-245fa, R-125/134a/600a
(28.1/70/1.9), R-125/290/134a/600a
(55.0/1.0/42.5/1.5), R-404A, R-407C, R-410A, R-
4108, R-417A, R-421A, R-422B, R-422C, R-422D,
R-423A, R-424A, R-434A, R-438A, R-507A, RS-44
(2003 composition), THR-03

FOR12A, FOR12B, HFC-134a, HFC-227ea, KDD6,
R-125/134a/600a (28.1/70/1.9), R-
125/290/134a/600a (55.0/1.0/42.5/1.5), R-404A,
R-407C, R-410A, R-410B, R-417A, R-421A, R-
422B, R-422C, R-422D, R-424A, R-434A, R-437A,
R-438A, R-507A, RS-44 (2003 composition),
SP34E, THR-03

January 1, 2025

January 1, 2025

Table 1.1b Prohibited substances for new products and equipment (added
through current rulemaking). End-use category: refrigeration.

End-Use Category:
Refrigeration

Prohibited Substances

Effective Date

Automatic commerecial
ice machines - remote
condensing units
(New and retrofit)

Automatic commerecial
ice machines — stand-
alone units

(New and retrofit)

R-404A, R-507, R-507A, R-428A, R-422C, R-434A,
R-421B, R-408A, R-422A, R-407B, R-402A, R-
422D, R-421A, R-125/R-290/R-134a/R-600a
(55/1/42.5/1.5), R-422B, R-424A, R-402B, GHG-
X5, R-417A, R-438A, and R-410B

R-404A, R-507, R-507A, R-428A, R-422C, R-434A,
R-421B, R-408A, R-422A, R-407B, R-402A, R-
422D, R-421A, R-125/R-290/R-134a/R-600a
(55/1/42.5/1.5), R-422B, R-424A, R-402B, GHG-
X5, R-417A, R-438A, R-410B, R-407A, R-410A, R-
442A, R-417C, R-407F, R-437A, R-407C, RS-24
(2004 formulation), and HFC-134a

January 1, 2025

January 1, 2025

Publication 23-02-080
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Table 1.2. Applies to manufacturers and business owners. Prohibited substances
for new refrigeration equipment, including ice rinks.

Prohibited
End-Use Criteria : Effective Date
Substances | Exemptions
Retail food New refrigeration . .
refrigeration equipment containing Refrigerants with
aGWPof 150 or | xx January 1, 2025
(New and existing more than 50 pounds of more
Facilities) refrigerant
Cold storage New refrigeration Refrigerants with
warehouses ; po
t t
equr'r;]en con a'n';'g . |acwPofisoor | .. January 1, 2025
(New and existing mor'e than 50 pounds o more
facilities) refrigerant
Industrial process %
refrigeration N fri ‘i
excluding chillers ew retrigeration Refrigerants with | V&Y 1ow
equipment containing a GWP of 150 or temperature January 1, 2025
(New and existing more than 50 pounds of more (VLT) ’
facilities) refrigerant refrigeration
or cooling
uses
* %
Chillers used for
industrial process New refrigeration Refrigerants with Very low
refrigeration equipment containing |, Gyp of 750 or | 1EMPEratUre | 1o ary 1, 2025
more than 50 pounds of (VLT) ’
(New and existing refrigerant more refrigeration
facilities) or cooling
uses
New refrigeration . .
Ice rinks equipment containing Refrigerants with
a GWP of 150 or January 1, 2024
(New facilities) more than 50 pounds of more
refrigerant
Ice rinks New refrigeration . .
equipment containin Refrigerants with
(Existing facilities) quip 8 a GWP of 750 or January 1, 2024

more than 50 pounds of
refrigerant

more

**Exemptions:

- Equipment with 50 pounds or less of refrigerant;

- Replacement of a refrigeration component in an existing facility as part of normal maintenance provided the result
does not meet the criteria of “new refrigeration equipment” as defined in WAC 173-443-030; and
- Facilities with new refrigeration equipment with a building permit issued before the effective date of this chapter.

Publication 23-02-080
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Table 1.3. Prohibited substances for new air-conditioning equipment.

effective date
of this
chapter.

End-Use Criteria el Exemptions Effective Date
Substances
Room/wall/window | New air Refrigerants Facilities with | January 1, 2024
air conditioning conditioning with a GWP of | new air
equipment, equipment 750 or more conditioning
PTAC/PTHPs, equipment
portable air with a
conditioning building
equipment, and permit issued
residential before the
dehumidifiers effective date
of this
(New and existing chapter.
facilities)
Other types of air New air Refrigerants Facilities with | January 1, 2028
conditioning conditioning with a GWP of | new air
equipment used in | equipment 750 or more conditioning
residential and equipment
nonresidential with a
applications building
permit issued
(New and existing before the
facilities) effective date
of this
chapter.
Variable refrigerant | New air Refrigerants Facilities with | January 1, 2026
flow (VRF) or conditioning with a GWP of | new air
volume system equipment 750 or more conditioning
equipment
(New and existing with a
facilities) building
permit issued
before the

Publication 23-02-080
Page 11
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Table 1.4. Prohibited substances for small containers of refrigerant and
nonessential consumer products, including MVAC. Applies to manufacturers and

suppliers.

End-Use

Prohibited Substances

Effective Date

Small containers of refrigerant (less than
two pounds) designed for consumer
recharge of a motor vehicle air
conditioning system or consumer
appliance

Refrigerants with a GWP
of 150 or more

July 25, 2021

Nonessential consumer products

Refrigerants with a GWP
of 150 or more

July 25, 2021

Publication 23-02-080
Page 12
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Part 2: Refrigerant Management Program

The purpose of the Refrigerant Management Program (RMP) is to reduce GHG emissions from
stationary commercial refrigeration and air-conditioning systems, which includes the
installation and servicing of equipment systems using high-GWP refrigerants. This section
covers what property owners/operators and facility managers need to know about the RMP
and how it may impact them.

What does the rule propose?

As proposed, the refrigerant management program will address emissions from large
refrigeration and air-conditioning equipment operating in Washington containing high-GWP
refrigerant. This will be accomplished by requiring owners to perform regular leak inspections
and timely leak repairs.

Equipment owners using high-GWP refrigerants will not be required to replace their existing
equipment if the equipment remains in good operating condition and detected leaks of high-
GWP refrigerants are repaired. Equipment owners will need to register with Ecology and
participate in annual reporting based on equipment size.

Who is affected?

The RMP requirements apply to you if you are:

e Any owner or operator of a facility that has refrigeration or air conditioning system(s)
with a full charge greater than or equal to 50 pounds of a high-GWP (>150) refrigerant;

e Any person who installs, repairs, maintains, services, or disposes of refrigeration or air
conditioning equipment; and

e Any person who wholesales, distributes, or reclaims any amount of high-GWP
refrigerants in Washington.

Beginning January 1, 2024, the owner or operator of a facility that has a refrigeration or air-
conditioning system with a full charge greater than or equal to 50 pounds of a high-GWP
refrigerant must maintain records (outlined in the recordkeeping section below) for a minimum
of five years.

Understanding the charge of your equipment or system

Since the RMP requirements for a given facility varies by facility category, it is important to
confirm the full refrigerant charge of the largest system. Full charge weight of a system can be
determined by checking the equipment plate, reviewing the service records or by contacting
your service provider or manufacturer.

California Air Resources Board provide a charge calculator (Microsoft Excel file) to calculate the
charge from the size components in the system.

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
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https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/resources/documents/rmp-refrigerant-charge-calculator

What are the requirements of the RMP in the proposed rule?
As proposed, the RMP requirements apply to the following:

e Industrial process refrigeration (IPR);

e Commercial refrigeration;

e Air conditioning; and

e Other refrigeration systems containing 50 pounds or more of a high-GWP refrigerant.

These regulations do not apply to systems containing less than 50 pounds of refrigerant.

Registration and fees

If you are an owner/operator of equipment subject to the RMP and you have a business in
operation as of January 1, 2024, then you are required to register by March 15, as outlined in
the table below. For businesses that are not in operation until after the effective date,
registration will be required by March 15 of the following year. i.e., a facility with a large system
charge that begins operations on January 2, 2024, must register by March 15, 2025.

Implementation fees are required for owners/operators of facilities with refrigeration or air
conditioning systems as outlined in Table 2.1. Fees are due and payable to Ecology within 30
days of receipt of invoice following registration.

Owners/operators must register their facility and refrigeration or air conditioning equipment
with Ecology according to the schedule in Table 2.1 below. Further information about how to
register and pay fees will be provided when the rule is adopted and implemented.

Table 2.1. Registration deadlines and fees

System Charge Registra‘tion Initial. Annua!
Deadline Implementation Fee | Implementation Fee
> 1,500 (large) March 15, 2024 $150 $370
200 < 1,499 (medium) | March 15, 2026 None $170
50 <199 (small) March 15, 2028 None None
Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
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Registration for wholesalers, distributors, and reclaimers

If you are a wholesaler, distributor, and/or reclaimer, you are required to register with Ecology
by March 15, 2024, and do not have any implementation fees.
Leak detection and monitoring

Leak inspections

Owner/operators must conduct leak inspections for systems according to the schedule in Table
2.2 below Leak inspections must be conducted by a Section 608 certified technician, and they
may use a calibrated refrigerant leak detection device or conduct a bubble test. All visible and
accessible components of a system must be inspected.

Table 2.2. Leak inspection requirements

Facility Category Leak inspection frequency Effective Date

Large Monthly January 1, 2024

Medium Every 3 months January 1, 2024

Small Yearly January 1, 2024

Systems Not Operated Year-round | Within 30 days of resuming January 1, 2024
operation; then every 3 months

In addition to regularly scheduled leak inspections, system leak inspections are to be
conducted:

e At the time of verification and follow up verification tests;

e Each time refrigerant is added in an amount equal to or greater than five (5) pounds, or
one percent of the full charge, whichever is greater; and

e Each time oil residue is observed on any refrigerant circuit component indicating a
refrigerant leak.

If your systems (or portions of systems) are in an enclosed building and are continuously
monitored by an automatic leak detection system (ALD), which is audited and calibrated
annually, then you are not required to conduct regular leak inspections (see details in section
on ALD below).

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
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Automatic leak detection (ALD)

If you are an owners/operator of large refrigeration systems (= 1,500 pounds of refrigerant),
and intend to operate year-round, you are required to install an ALD system by January 1, 2025.
This applies to systems which have:

e The refrigerant circuit located entirely within an enclosed building or structure; or
e The compressor, evaporator, condenser, or any other component of the refrigeration
system is located inside an enclosed building or structure.

Installation of ALD is not required if the system is intended to be replaced or retrofit to use a
low-GWP refrigerant before January 1, 2027.

If you are an owner/operator of refrigeration systems with less than 1500 pounds of refrigerant
(small and medium systems) and your system meet the above criteria, you may choose to
install ALD and in doing so will not be required to conduct regular leak inspections.

Leak rate thresholds

Leak rate thresholds for commercial refrigeration, industrial process refrigeration (IPR), and air
conditioning systems are outlined in Table 4 below.

Table 2.3. Leak rate thresholds

End Use Leak Rate Threshold
Commercial or Retail Refrigeration 16%
Industrial Process Refrigeration (IPR) 24%
Air Conditioning 8%

The owner/operator of a facility with a system that exceeds the leak rate thresholds, shown
above in Table 2.3, must notify Ecology through the Ecology RMP platform within 30 days of
determining the exceedance, followed by leak repair verification tests as required.

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
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Calculating your leak rate

Owners/operators must calculate the leak rate every time:

e There is a leak inspection conducted and
e Refrigerant is added to a system.

If the addition of refrigerant is made immediately following the installation of a new system,
you are not required to conduct a leak rate calculation at that time.

The leak rate must be calculated using the 12-month rolling average method below:

Ib refrigerant added over previous 365 day period
Leak Rate = - - - x 100%
Ib refrigerant normally contained in the system at full charge

Repairing your leaks

Beginning January 1, 2024, all owners and/or operators of a facility that has a refrigeration or
air conditioning system with a refrigerant charge greater than or equal to 50 pounds of a high-
GWP refrigerant must ensure that all detected leaks are repaired.

e Arefrigerant leak must be repaired by a certified technician within 14 calendar days of
its detection, except when a longer period is allowed.

e Owners/operators must verify leaks have been repaired:

o Aninitial verification test must be performed upon completion of any leak
repair and before any additional refrigerant is added to the system.

o If a system was evacuated to make the repair, a follow-up verification test must
be performed within 14 days of the system returning to normal operating
characteristics and conditions.

e If either the initial or follow-up verification test indicates that repairs were not
successful, owners/operators may have one (1) additional time period, equal in time to
the first, to ensure the leak is repaired.

e If owners/operators fail to fix all identified leaks within the required timeframe, and do
not have an approved exemption, they must create and implement a retrofit or
retirement plan.

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
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Retrofit or retirement of equipment

If a system cannot be repaired within the required timeframe and does not have an approved
exemption, the owner/operator must create a retrofit (to a low-GWP refrigerant) or retirement
plan. The plan must be submitted to Ecology within 90 days of the leak repair timeline expiring.

The retrofit or retirement must be completed within 6 months of the leak repair
timeframe expiring unless granted extra time.
Owners/operators must repair all identified leaks as part of any retrofit.
Owners/operators may request relief from the obligation to retrofit or retire a system if:
o Within the 6-month plan time frame, the owner/operator can establish that the
appliance is no longer leaking and,
o They have successfully repaired all identified all leaks.
The retrofit or retirement plan requirements are halted during any time that a
refrigeration or air conditioning system is undergoing “mothballing”, or intentionally
shutting down for longer than 60 days where the refrigerant has been evacuated from
the system. Once the system resumes operation, the requirements resume
immediately.

Recordkeeping and reporting

If you are an owner/operator of a facility with a refrigeration or air conditioning system(s) with
a full charge greater than or equal to 200 pounds of a high-GWP refrigerant (medium and large
systems as defined in Table 2.1 of registration and fees section), you must submit an annual

facility

report to Ecology each year following the year your facility is registered. Annual

implementation fees are due and payable to Ecology within 30 days of receipt of invoice
following annual reporting.

Beginning January 1, 2024, all owners/operators of all sized systems must maintain, at a
minimum, the following records for a minimum of 5 years:

All registration information;

Documentation of all leak detection systems, leak inspections, and annual audit and
calibrations of ALD systems;

Records of system service and refrigerant leak repairs and documentation of any
conditions allowing more than 14 days to repair a refrigerant leak after detection;
Any retrofit or retirement plans required;

All reports required;

Any application for an exemption and any Ecology notification of approval, denial,
revocation, or modification of an exemption;

Any plan or other written documentation required, signed by the facility’s
representative, indicating that the system will be replaced or retrofitted to a low-GWP
refrigerant before January 1, 2027, in lieu of installing ALD;

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook

Page 18

August 2023



e Invoices of high-GWP refrigerant purchases;

e Record of all shipments of high-GWP refrigerants for reclamation or destruction; and

e Records of all refrigeration or air condition systems component data, measurements,
calculations, and assumptions used to determine full charge.

Reporting for refrigerant wholesalers, distributors, and reclaimers

If you are a refrigerant wholesaler, distributor, and/or reclaimer, you are required to submit an
annual report to Ecology starting March 1, 2025, and each year thereafter, for the previous
calendar year. These reporting requirements do not apply to the following purposes:

1. Selling to a refrigerant distributor or wholesaler for eventual resale
2. Providing to a person for reclamation or destruction

The annual report must cover all Washington facilities under the operational control of the
refrigerant wholesaler, distributor, or reclaimer and must provide annual statewide aggregated
data including:

1. Contact information
2. Refrigerant distribution data
3. Refrigerant reclamation data

Required service practices

A person performing any installation, maintenance, service, repair, or disposal of a refrigeration
or air conditioning system with a full charge greater than or equal to 50 pounds of a high-GWP
refrigerant must comply with ALL the following conditions:

e The person must hold a current, valid, and applicable certificate issued under 40 CFR
82.161;

e In preparing the equipment for recycling or disposal, the person may not intentionally
disrupt the refrigerant circuit resulting in discharge to the atmosphere unless an
attempt to recover the refrigerant is made using certified refrigerant recovery
equipment;

e The person must evacuate the equipment in accordance with 40 CFR 82.156 when
evacuation is required before opening equipment to atmospheric conditions (refrigerant
may be returned to the equipment from which it was recovered or to another piece of
equipment owned by the same person without being recycled or reclaimed);

e The person may not add an additional refrigerant charge of a refrigerant not compatible
with the refrigerant contained in the system;

e The person may not add an additional refrigerant charge to a system known to have a
refrigerant leak unless the additional charge is needed to maintain operations while
preparing for or conducting the leak repair;
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e The person must use refrigerant recovery or recycling equipment certified by EPA under
40 CFR 82.158;

e The person must evacuate refrigerant from a nonrefillable cylinder to a vacuum of 15
inches of mercury, relative to standard atmospheric pressure of 29.9 inches of mercury,
before recycling or disposal; and

e The person must satisfy job site evacuation of refrigerants during recycling, recovering,
reclaiming, or disposing in accordance with 40 CFR 82.156.

Publication 23-02-080 HFC Proposed Rule Informational Guidebook
Page 20 August 2023



	Hydrofluorocarbons Proposed Rule Language: Informational Guidebook
	Publication Information
	Contact Information
	ADA Accessibility
	Department of Ecology’s Regional Offices
	Map of Counties Served


	Hydrofluorocarbons Proposed Rule Language:  Informational Guidebook
	Table of Contents
	Introduction
	Benefits of proposed rule
	Rulemaking timeline

	Part 1: Prohibitions on the use of certain HFCs
	What does the rule propose?
	Who is affected?
	What sectors and subsectors are covered by the proposed rule? What is exempt?
	Table 1.1a Prohibited substances for new products and equipment (added through current rulemaking). End-use category: air conditioning.
	Table 1.1b Prohibited substances for new products and equipment (added through current rulemaking). End-use category: refrigeration.
	Table 1.2. Applies to manufacturers and business owners. Prohibited substances for new refrigeration equipment, including ice rinks.
	Table 1.3. Prohibited substances for new air-conditioning equipment.
	Table 1.4. Prohibited substances for small containers of refrigerant and nonessential consumer products, including MVAC. Applies to manufacturers and suppliers.


	Part 2: Refrigerant Management Program
	What does the rule propose?
	Who is affected?
	Understanding the charge of your equipment or system

	What are the requirements of the RMP in the proposed rule?
	Registration and fees
	Registration for wholesalers, distributors, and reclaimers
	Leak detection and monitoring
	Leak inspections
	Automatic leak detection (ALD)
	Leak rate thresholds
	Calculating your leak rate
	Repairing your leaks

	Retrofit or retirement of equipment
	Recordkeeping and reporting
	Reporting for refrigerant wholesalers, distributors, and reclaimers
	Required service practices




