Hazardous Waste and Toxics Reduction Program

DEPARTMENT OF

ECOLOGY

State of Washington

2023 Pollution Prevention (P2) Plan and
Hazardous Waste Planning Fee Guide

More information

ecology.wa.gov/PreventWaste
Pollution

Hazardous Waste Planning
Fee contact
Vanessa O’Daniel
360-999-3657
P2Plans@ecy.wa.gov

P2 Plan regional contacts
Northwest
Myles Perkins
425-457-2514
myles.perkins@ecy.wa.gov

Southwest
Jason Landskron
360-485-7880
jason.landskron@ecy.wa.gov

Eastern
Huckleberry Palmer
509-952-5442
huckleberry.palmer@ecy.wa.gov

Central
Rebecca Williams
509-379-4815
rebecca.williams@ecy.wa.gov

ADA Accessibility
To request an ADA
accommodation, contact
Ecology by phone at
360-407-6700 or email at
hwtrpubs@ecy.wa.gov, or visit
ecology.wa.gov/accessibility. For
Relay Service or TTY call 711 or
877-833-6341.
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What is a P2 Plan?

A P2 Plan helps organize pollution prevention opportunities at your
facility and track your progress toward your efforts to voluntarily
reduce hazardous substance use and waste generation.

Who has to complete a P2 Plan?
You must complete a P2 Plan if your business or facility either:

1. Generates more than 2,640 pounds of dangerous waste
annually.

2. Reports toxic releases under Section 313 of the Emergency
Planning and Community Right to Know Act.

When are P2 Plans due?
By September 1, 2023.

How do | complete a P2 plan?
Use our online TurboPlan tool at ecology.wa.gov/TurboPlan.

What'’s the Hazardous Waste Planning Fee?
The fee varies based on what your business or facility:

e Generated and reported on your Dangerous Waste Annual
Report.

e Released and reported on your Toxics Release Inventory
Report (Form R).

When is the fee due?
By July 2, 2023.

How much is the fee?
This fee varies in amount based on how much waste you generate:

e For facilities that generate between 2,640 and 4,000 pounds
of dangerous waste, the 2023 fee is $80.

e Facilities that generate more than 4,000 pounds of dangerous
waste receive a fee based on a separate formula. See Table 1
on the next page.
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Table 1. 2023 Hazardous Waste Planning Fee and calculations

DEPARTMENT OF

ECOLOGY

State of Washington

Pounds generated TRI Release? Fee Maximum Fee
(DW' + EHW?) (pounds)
2,640 — 4,000 n/a $80 $80
(DW + TRI + (EHW x 10))
4,000 and up 4,000 and up x $0.107342 $25,977

How is the fee calculated?

Your fee is based on the rate per pound using a
formula in the Washington Administrative Code.*
We use the following to calculate your fee:

e Your 2022 Dangerous Waste Annual Report
(or most recent year available), counting
only the recurrent manifested waste minus
off-site recycling credits.

e Your 2021 Toxics Release Inventory (TRI)
Report, counting only the on-site toxic
releases to air, land, and water—and only if
your dangerous waste is more than 4,000
pounds.

The following types of wastes are not counted:

e On-site recycled waste

e Exempt wastes

e Treatment by generator wastes

e Permit by rule wastes

e Non-recurrent wastes according to the

Dangerous Waste Annual Report

The fee is capped (maximum fee) at $25,977 for
any individual facility or set of interrelated
facilities. This is the most you could pay.

Frequently asked questions

What if | pay late?
A 1% interest rate per month may be added to
your fee according to RCW 43.17.240.5

1 DW is dangerous waste

2 EHW is extremely hazardous waste

3TRI is Toxics Release Inventory

4 http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=173-305-220
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What if | don’t pay the fee?
Unpaid accounts may go to collections and incur up
to a 25% surcharge to the delinquent amount.

Can the fee amount be adjusted?

Yes, but only if you failed to include recycling
credits on your 2022 Dangerous Waste Annual
Report. No other adjustments can be made.
Contact Vanessa O’Daniel.

How are risk factors applied to your fee?
Our program adds a risk factor for specific types of
dangerous wastes and TRI emissions that designate
as:
e State-only EHW, multiplied by 10 times the
current rate.
e Both federal dangerous waste and state-
only EHW, multiplied by the rate.®
e Federal dangerous wastes and TRI
emissions, multiplied by the rate.®

Read our Interim Policy for the Hazardous Waste
Planning Fee’ for more information.

How much is collected and how is it used?
In 2023, the total amount collected will be
$2,597,713.

We use these funds to support Pollution
Prevention planning; provide non-regulatory
enforcement and confidential technical assistance;
reduce hazardous waste generation, hazardous
substance use, and water and energy usage; and
help facilities best manage their hazardous waste
streams.

5 http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=43.17.240
8 In other words, a risk factor of 1.
7 apps.ecology.wa.gov/publications/SummaryPages/2004015
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