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Post-consumer recycling overview for 2024 
Focus on recycled content requirements 

Recycled Content Compliance in Washington: A Closer Look at the Numbers 
Washington's laws on post-consumer recycled content (PCRC) are designed to reduce the use of new plastic 
and encourage the use of recycled materials. Producers of plastic beverage containers and trash bags must 
add a minimum percentage of PCRC into their packaging. These laws can be found in Chapter 70A.245 of the 
Revised Code of Washington (RCW). 

By 2024, plastic 
beverage containers 
must contain at least 
15% recycled content, 
while trash bags must 
have at least 10%. Most 
trash bag producers 
meet the PCRC 
minimum, with just 
19% falling short. 
However, 62% of plastic 
beverage container 
producers do not meet 
the PCRC minimum 
recycled content 
requirement. 

Producers failing to meet these minimum requirements will be put on corrective action plans to ensure 
compliance. They may also face penalties for not meeting the PCRC requirements. 

Rising number of exempt producers 
All producers selling or distributing certain plastic products in Washington must notify Ecology every year, 
regardless of whether they are exempt. Since 2022, there has been an increase in exempt or small-scale 
producers. De minimis producers are those who either sell less than one million dollars’ worth of a specific 
covered product category in Washington or sell less than one ton of a covered product category in the state. 
These producers are not required to meet the minimum recycled content requirements or pay annual fees to 
Ecology. 

The de minimis threshold is intended to exempt small or family-owned businesses that could not meet the 
new PCRC requirements. In 2024, 290 producers registered with Ecology, with 170 meeting the de minimis 
criteria. Covered producers must pay fees to cover Ecology's program oversight costs and comply with the 

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=70A.245
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fapps.ecology.wa.gov%2FWasteReduction%2FRecycledContent&data=05%7C02%7Cecyrerecycledcontent%40ECY.WA.GOV%7C3d94fd166d324a5225da08dc4f468fc2%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638472411702093326%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=k1dfcN8g3zFZql7dne69zBe9gmZUTciPSTU%2BsLp5284%3D&reserved=0
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minimum PCRC requirements. As the number of de minimis producers increases, the burden of supporting 
program oversight and administration costs increases for covered producers.  

Recycled content requirements for 2025 
The minimum percentage requirements for each covered product category gradually increase over the next 12 
years. By 2036, all packaging for covered product categories must include at least 50% post-consumer recycled 
content, except trash bags containing only 20% after 2027. 

Trash bag PCRC requirements 
will increase from 10% to 15%. 

Household cleaning and 
personal care products PCRC 
requirements will begin at 15%. 

Plastic beverage containers will 
maintain a 15% requirement 
until 2026, increasing to 25%. 

To request an ADA accommodation, contact 
Ecology by phone at 360-409-6900 or email at 
Mark.Hayes@ecy.wa.gov, or visit 
https://ecology.wa.gov/accessibility. For Relay 
Service or TTY, call 711 or 877-833-6341. 

Recycled Content Team 
Shannon Jones, Alyssa Estes, 
 and Heather Curtis 
recycledcontent@ecy.wa.gov

https://ecology.wa.gov/waste-toxics/reducing-recycling-waste/plastics/2021-plastic-pollution-laws/recycled-content-minimums
mailto:recycledcontent@ecy.wa.gov
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